The Infinite Monkey Cage, Chicago

Why Evolution Is True

Our live performance of the Infinite Monkey Cage last night was, I judge, a big success, and I am always on the pessimistic side. I confess that I was nervous beforehand, as I didn’t know if I’d have much to contribute to a stellar panel that included the hosts, Brian Cox and Robin Ince, the polymath Peter Sagal (best known for his NPR Show «Wait wait. . .don’t tell me»), Julia Sweeney, the writer, comedian and vociferous atheist, and my Chicago colleague Paul Sereno, an eloquent paleontologist specializing in the evolution of dinosaurs (and who, because of his many field expeditions to remote places, was introduced as «The Indiana Jones of Paleontology [I later beefed that I wasn’t introduced as «The Indiana Jones of fruit fly genetics»]).

But it all turned out well.  Everyone was affable and nice as pie, we all got along, and the conversation, which…

View original post ещё 987 слов

Добавить комментарий

